VoV Radio Theater


Voice of Vashon Radio Theater, a series of 10 minute plays created in 2008 , was produced by the Vashon Parks District and Performance Exchange.  It was the brainchild of island producer Jeanne Dougherty and Park District Program Director Susan McCabe (pictured at right).

The series gave Island thespians the opportunity to create theater in a stripped down, simplified way. Production values are minimal — stools, script stands and microphones.

 “Response to our first Radio Theater performance was unexpectedly strong, and the audience made it clear that they wanted more,” McCabe said. She was thrilled when Dougherty approached her about creating an evening of radio theater. “I knew that if Jeanne took this on, we would end up with a strong evening of theater,” McCabe said.

Other Island theater artists participating in the project are Chris Ott, Stephen Floyd, David Godsey, Lynann Politte, Kathryn Mesney, Lyndsay Aicken, Phil Dunn, Stephen Seigel, Antonia Greene, Louis Mangione, Janet McAlpin, Tim Morrison, Janice Randall and Chaim Rosemarin.